Newtownshandrum GAA & Camogie

Founded 1896

Co. Cork

2020 A Season to Remember for Shandrum U16's

Download our mobile app to hear more about Newtownshandrum GAA & Camogie.

See More

The season of 2020 was one to remember for all the right reasons for the Shandrum under 16 hurlers which culminated in winning the North Cork Div 1 Under 16 championship. This competition was run this year on a league style format with 5 teams in the group and the top 2 to play off in the final.

They played Clyda Rovers in the opening encounter in Newtown where they had a good win. Next up was away to a fancied Fermoy side and what a game it was. After a nail-biting second half, they did well to finish all square. This was when we saw the grit and determination that was to become their trademark for the rest of the summer. A convincing home win against our neighbours’ Charleville followed, as did an away victory against Kanturk and a spot in the final was now guaranteed.

The final was fixed for Saturday, September 26th versus Fermoy in sun-drenched Castletownroche. This was a match that was full of thrills and spills. The boys withstood tremendous pressure in the first half and were lucky to be just 2 points adrift at half time. They battled hard to eventually draw level in the closing minutes and dug out a 2 point win in injury time to finish Shandrum 3-9 to Fermoy 2-10. The final whistle was met with scenes of sheer jubilation both inside and outside the wire and for sure this win will be remembered for many years for those that were lucky enough to be there. Massive thanks to John O’Connor, Robert Troy, Pat Quaid, Don O’Connell and Pat Quinn for their dedication in training and managing this group of boys for this unusual year and heartiest congratulations and well done to the panel of players themselves who have given us a great season of hurling and one to remember for all the right reasons. Roll on 2021!!!

Back Row: John O’Connor, Luke McInerney, Kieran Murphy, Paddy Twohill, Shane O’Riordan, Colin Quaid, Daniel O’Connell, Eoin O’Mahony, David O’Riordan, Shane O’Leary, Ciaran O’Brien, Pat Quaid, Don O’Connell.

Front Row: Robert Troy, Stephen Minihane, Tom McCarthy, Bill Collins, Eoin Tynan, Cillian Quinn, Sean O’Connor, Robert Troy, Eoin O’Connor, Rory Troy, Pat Quinn.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play